Sourdough Starter :: Day 2

Today is Day 2 of my sourdough starter and I’m starting to worry again. I didn’t see any separation or liquid like Sarah’s (from Frühlingskabine Micro-Farm) starter on Day 2.  I looked around for recipes, just to see if I was the only one. From the several recipes and how-to’s that I read, it sounds like the liquid forms when the flour-to-water ratio is a bit off (I’m really hoping that’s it! Or that it’s just too cold still). Interestingly, a lot of the recipes I read didn’t call for pouring off any liquid. Instead, they called on discarding half the starter as a way to control the size of the starter. I also found out that temperature affects the growth of the yeast (cold slows it down, heat speeds it up). I’m pretty sure my yeast will be slow-growing, as currently the temperature in the house is around 67 degrees.

Sourdough Starter Day 2

Sourdough Starter Day 2

With those tidbits of information in mind, I decided to keep going ahead! I decided to skim off the top layer of my starter. There was no liquid, but the top layer of the dough-like substance seemed a bit darker in comparison with the rest. I think I did it just to be on the safe side and be sure that all I had in my jar was my main mixture as Sarah indicated in her blog post. I fed it, gave it a good stir, covered it with the cheesecloth and, instead of setting it back on my kitchen counter, I placed it on top of the fridge. I’m hoping it will be a tad bit warmer in that spot than on the counter.

Sourdough Starter Day 2

Sourdough Starter Day 2

In an unrelated note, it was 50 degrees today. It was so nice outside, sunny and cool instead of frigid cold. Since we have an extra bit of sunshine in the evenings now, I grabbed my sneakers and headed outside for a good 20-minute walk! Have to enjoy it while I can, apparently, we’re expecting snow tomorrow night.

Leave a Reply

